Discover Diriyah



Known as The Land of Kings and Heroes and just minutes from Saudi Arabia’s capital city Riyadh, Diriyah ushers in an era of Mega Sports events through a slew of global showdowns from Boxing Championship, to Formula E-racing, Tennis Cup and Equestrian Festival.


Diriyah, the land of kings and the jewel of the future


diriyah map

Diriyah is the historical site of the establishment of the first Saudi state and is considered the Jewel of the Kingdom. It embodies the soul of the nation’s history, and the promise of its future. For hundreds of years, its cool mud-brick buildings have been a refuge for those seeking respite from the heat of the desert and a hub where communities can gather, share and grow together.
Located just minutes from Riyadh, Diriyah was founded in 1446 CE on the banks of the Wadi Hanifah, surrounded by lush agricultural lands. As communities grew in Wadi Hanifah, Diriyah developed into a central gathering point in the Najd Region because of the unifying efforts led by Mohammad bin Saud and Sheikh Mohammad bin Abdul Wahab. Between 1744 and 1818 CE, Ad Diriyah became the site for the first Saudi capital, known as At-Turaif.





history of Saudi Arabia history of Saudi Arabia




 

At-Turaif

Diriyah is home to At-Turaif, a UNESCO World Heritage site that stands as a symbol of Saudi’s rich history. The authority has placed great priority in preservation and restoration of the citadel under international UNESCO guidelines to offer visitors a chance to walk in the footsteps of Kings and Heroes and explore Saudi history and culture in an authentic environment.
The city of At-Turaif, built in 1744 and recognized as one of the world’s largest mud-brick cities, was designated as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 2010. It is one of five UNESCO sites in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia


Visitors Reception Center

Visitors Reception Center

Orientation center where you will be introduced to At-Turaif. The site comprises palaces, museums, galleries, mosques, public gathering spaces and other places of historic and cultural significance.




Diriyah Museum

Diriyah Museum

A chance to walk through the ruins of At-Turaif and learn about the significance of specific elements of Salwa Palace. This museum offers an interpretation of the history and development of the first Saudi state through artifacts, graphics, models and documentaries.




Salwa Palace

Salwa Palace

The largest structure in At-Turaif, dating back to the early 1700s, is sprawled across 10,000 sqm. The palace has significant historical importance as it was the home to the first Saudi Imams under the first Saudi state.




Imam Mohammed bin Saud Mosque (At-Turaif Grand Mosque)

Imam Mohammed bin Saud Mosque (At-Turaif Grand Mosque)

The mosque adjacent to Salwa palace was once one of the largest on the Arabian Peninsula, built as a symbol of the strength and unity of the first Saudi state. Visitors can walk through the remains of the mosque overlooking the Minaret and wander within a more contemplative area of the Mosque site.









 

A Bujairi

Across the valley from At-Turaif lies Al Bujairi, an area that continues to serve as the cultural capital of the Kingdom since the establishment of the first Saudi state. Today, Al Bujairi is the perfect afternoon getaway from the city and a place where visitors can experience authentic Saudi cuisine and hospitality surrounded by lush greenery.










visa icon

Saudi Arabia Welcomes International Visitors


Apply for your e-visa now and enjoy a one-in-a-lifetime experience in Diriyah Season


Diriyah Skyline

اكتشف الدرعية



تعتبر مدينة الدرعيّة موطن الملوك والأبطال في المملكة العربية السعودية، وهي تبعُد مسافة دقائق فقط عن العاصمة الرياض. ومن هذه المدينة التاريخية ستنطلق ملامح جديدة لعالم الأحداث الرياضية الكبرى عبر استضافة مجموعة من المنافسات العالميّة كبطولة العالم في الملاكمة للوزن الثقيل، وسباق الفورمولا إي وكأس الدرعية للتنس ومهرجان الدرعية للفروسية.


الدرعية، موطن الملوك وجوهرة المستقبل


diriyah map

تعتبر مدينة الدرعية التاريخية العاصمة الأولى للمملكة العربية السعوديّة؛ وهي جوهرة التاج النفيسة التي تجسد الإرث التاريخي العريق للمملكة وأمجادها التليدة وسعيها الطموح لبناء مستقبلٍ مشرق وحافلٍ بالإمكانات والفرص. ومنذ مئات السنين، كانت الدرعيّة ملاذاً لأولئك الذين ينشدون التنعّم بالراحة والاسترخاء بعيداً عن درجات الحرارة المرتفعة، ومركزاً لتلاقي أبناء المجتمعات والتواصل والتفاعل فيما بينهم.
وتقع مدينة الدرعية على بعد دقائق فقط من العاصمة الرياض، وقد تم إنشاؤها في عام 1446 للميلاد على ضفاف وادي حنيفة، وتحيط بها الأراضي الزراعية الخصبة. وبالتوازي مع نمو وتطوّر المجتمعات المحيطة بوادي حنيفة، شهدت الدرعية مزيداً من الازدهار لتغدو نقطة تجمع مركزية في منطقة نجد، وذلك نتيجة للجهود الدؤوبة بقيادة محمد بن سعود والإمام محمد بن عبد الوهاب. وبين عامي 1744 و1818 للميلاد، أصبحت الدرعية العاصمة الأولى للمملكة وكانت تُعرف باسم 'منطقة الطُّريف'.





history of Saudi Arabia history of Saudi Arabia




 

حي الطريف التاريخي

حتضن الدرعية حي الطريف، وهو أحد المواقع المُدرجة بقائمة منظمة اليونسكو للتراث العالمي. وقد تم الحفاظ على الموقع بعناية؛ ليوفر لزواره فرصة استحضار تاريخ الملوك والأبطال، والتعرف عن كثب على المخزون التراثي والثقافي الغنيّ للمملكة. تم بناء حي الطريف في عام 1744م، وتم الاعتراف به من كبرى المدن الطينية في العالم، وتم تسجيله بقائمة التراث العالمي لمنظمة اليونسكو في عام 2010م. ويعد الحي واحداً من خمس مواقع سعودية مُدرجة بقائمة التراث العالمي.


مركز استقبال الزوار

مركز استقبال الزوار

سيعرّفك مركز التوجيه والإرشاد على حي الطريف، حيث يضم الحي قصورًا، ومتاحف، ومعارض، ومساجد، ومساحات للتجمعات العامة، وغيرها من الأماكن ذات الأهمية التاريخية والثقافية.




متحف الدرعية

متحف الدرعية

قدم المتحف فرصة رائعة للتجول بين آثار حي الطريف، والتعرف على أهمية بعض وحدات قصر سلوى. يقدم هذا المتحف عرضاً لتاريخ وتطور الدولة السعودية الأولى من خلال الأعمال الفنية والرسومات والنماذج والأفلام الوثائقية.




قصر سلوى

قصر سلوى

يعتبر أكبر مبنى في حي الطريف، إذ يمتد على مساحة 10000متر مربع، وهو قصر يعود تاريخه إلى أوائل القرن الثامن عشر، وله أهمية تاريخية كبيرة، لأنه كان قصراً لأئمة الدولة السعودية الأولى.




مسجد الإمام محمد بن سعود (المسجد الكبير في حي الطريف)

مسجد الإمام محمد بن سعود (المسجد الكبير في حي الطريف)

هذا المسجد الذي يجاور قصر سلوى كان - ذات يومٍ - أكبر مسجدٍ في الجزيرة العربية، وقد تم تشييده ليرمز لقوة ووحدة الدولة السعودية الأولى. يمكن للزوار التجول بين أطلال هذا المسجد، كما يمكنهم تأمل تفاصيله وموقعه.









 

حي البجيري

بالقرب من حي الطريف العريق تقع منطقة البجيري الثقافية التي كانت تمثل مركزاً لنشر العلم والمعرفة خلال فترة ازدهار الدرعية كعاصمة للدولة السعودية الأولى. واليوم يضم البجيري الكثير من المراكز التجارية والمقاهي والوجهة الأمثل لتجربة المطبخ السعودي، والتعرّف عن كثب على عادات الضيافة الأصيلة في أحضان الخضرة الوارفة.










رسمة الفيزا

المملكة ترحب بالعالم!


تقدم بطلب تأشيرة لزيارة المملكة العربية السعودية و الاستمتاع بفعاليات موسم الدرعية العالمية!


Diriyah Skyline